Windows 7 Update – List not showing Updates but it displays “1 important update”

Today I had a strange problem with windows seven.
It informed me that there are new updates available. So I wanted to check what it is.
But it shows only “1 important update” if you click on show updates it displays at the left side (1 important update) but the list is empty.

So I clicked nevertheless on the install button and it installed something.

I don’t know what but it installed the invisible update successfully

Windows 7 Update - List not displaying update

  1. The same thing is happening to me man! I think it has something to do with hibernation… I’ll do a hard boot to see what happens.

    • Ignacio
    • May 8th, 2013

    I know this is old, but for anybody googling about this issue and find this:

    Open the task manager
    Kill explorer.exe and run explorer.exe.
    Or restart.

    • Ivan Rožić
    • December 18th, 2014

    Restart does not help!

  2. I’ve seen the same problem loads of times.
    Etc 2 important updates and 34 optional updates are available (32 of them is language pack for the enterprise and ulimate editions) but the list is still empty. I kill the explorer.exe and started it again manually. It then shows up, every time.

    • Bjørn Engsig
    • March 30th, 2017

    Can still happen in 2017 on Windows 7 SP1. And same workaround – kill explorer and restart it. Remember to start a command window before you kill explorer!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

