vmware-authd.exe has a high CPU load… How to fix it?

In the last days I had performance problems with my notebook.
When working with Visual Studio it was very slow and sometimes it was freezing for a while.

After a look in the TaskManager I have seen that the process vmware-authd.exe is using 50% (100% of one core) of the CPU (every 4 or 5 seconds).
First I was confused because I was not running my Virtual Machines so this seems to be a bug.

After using the Process Monitor I have seen that it is looking for this registry key
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WINDOWS NT\CURRENTVERSION\PERFLIB\Disable Performance Counters

After asking Bing i found a few useful threads online where people had the same problem.
Well the solution for the problem is to add the registry key as a DWord and set it to 1

Before I had a CPU usage of 50% every 4-5 Seconds. Now it is never more than 1% 🙂

It hope that the guys from the VMWare team will fix this until the next release

  1. Comfortabl y, the article is actually the greatest topic on the best registry cleaner in 2009. I concur with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your next updates. Just saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the exceptional clarity in your writing. I will directly grab your rss feed to stay privy of any updates.

      • michlG
      • January 4th, 2010

      Thank you very much 🙂
      I will do my best

  2. Hi, good stuff on your page which i didn’t know yet. I bookmarked your web site.

  3. I really liked reading through this article. I will be coming back in order to read some more intriguing views. Thank you.

    • Bonux
    • September 15th, 2010

    Thank you very much !!!

    My CPU is happy and me too !!!

    • Morteza
    • February 24th, 2011

    Thanks a lot.
    this works very well!

    • Ahio
    • May 7th, 2011

    Thanks a lot, work perfect !!!

    See the result : instantaneous 🙂

    • Ahio
    • May 7th, 2011
    • Stephen Rondeau
    • July 26th, 2011

    Not sure this is a complete fix… seems to be filling my application event log with error messages every five seconds, such as:

    Failed to read registry
    perf object Memory_Cache Bytes

    and about four other perf objects.

    • Wesley
    • August 18th, 2011

    Wow, this literally worked instantly. Even with three virtual machines running in the background and no restarts.

    Thanks so much!

    • Harvey
    • February 2nd, 2013

    Looks like the bug is back in VMware Workstation 9.0.1 build-894247, added the key and it now works fine, many thanks

    • Rami
    • February 2nd, 2016

    The bug still exists 😉 I have Win7 64-bit and just downloaded and installed VWware Workstation 12 Pro trial. vmware-authd hogs 25% of my 4-core CPU (100% of one core) all the time. Using this registry key solved the problem. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

